The Laughlady: Mother of Two

The Laughlady: Mother of Two

It isn’t easy. I’m sure most of you knew that, but I value honesty. I’m not going to say, “I can’t find my hairbrush, I haven’t blow-dried my hair in a week, I don’t know what’s for dinner, our budget’s a wreck (I’m the nerd, Hubs is the free-spirit), and the most I can hope for is a trip to Walmart – but that’s, like, totally awesome!” I am going to say, “I didn’t realize it would be this hard. I didn’t realize I would have to entertain a 5 year-old for 14 hours a day and would feel like a terrible person for putting him in front of Netflix for a portion of that. I didn’t realize that I wouldn’t be able to knit more than four stitches a day. I didn’t realize a baby could eat this often. I didn’t realize that I wouldn’t feel a huge amount of accomplishment at the end of every day, because I didn’t really do anything.” Well, enough about that pity-me crap. Let’s look on the bright side. I jumped in with both feet on May 23. I left my job to be home with my two kids. We’re going to be joyfully broke, but I am raising my kids, I’m breastfeeding my daughter, I’m using cloth diapers (we’ll talk more about this later.), every once and a while I knit a couple of stitches, and my marriage is solid. That’s pretty good. I also (sort of) make dinner every night! And I actually try a new recipe about once a week.

Laughlady Mother of Two
Leave a Reply

