Simplify

Simplify

So, I’ve never been good at staying simple.  Lately I’ve been packing and re-packing my purse.  “Ugh, it’s too heavy.”  So I take a few things out.  The next day at work, I need them again.  Well, crap.  Then everyday I seem to add one little thing over here and one little thing over there…and I’m back in a huge cave-purse and I don’t know how I got there.  I’m fishing through tissues, hand sanitizer (only used in emergencies at the park), band-aids, hydro-cortisone cream (I’m a mosquito buffet), wallet, keys, lipsticks…  I tried putting things inside little bags to put inside bigger bags, but, honestly, I felt it was a little silly.  I think I’ll always fluctuate how much I carry and how much I need, so I guess I’ll just keep going through the loop.  How do you handle the heavy purse/light purse/junk conundrum?

On my second day of purging for my personal 100 thing challenge, I went through my hanging clothes.  I was ruthless.  I asked all those questions like, “Do I hate this?”  “Am I making an excuse to keep it?” and “Does this fit and if not, why am I keeping it?”  It was easier laying the clothes out on my bed.  I read on Unclutterer to not touch the item too long.  The longer you touch it the more sentimental you’ll feel.  And if you’re only keeping it for memories, take a digital picture of it and toss it!  By the end,I got rid of a quarter of my hanging clothes.  And I haven’t even gotten to the drawer items: sweaters, jeans, PJs, shorts and T-shirts yet!  I hope I can keep forging forward and keep this momentum.  And of course, finish all of this before the garage sale.  🙂

I’m trying to simplify many things.  Along with the 100 thing challenge (ish) I’m trying to eliminate paper that I don’t need.  I scanned and cataloged more than 50 drawings by Pint-size a week ago.  I’m also going to go through old photos and scan them into the computer.  I don’t think I’ll toss the originals, but if something happened to them, I have them backed up electronically.  I heard of a professor where I work that has no paper files.  I don’t mean he only has a couple, I mean, any piece of paper that comes into his office, he scans and then shreds or tosses.  This is incredible to me.  I can’t imagine being able to do that!  After a while, for me at least, it would become a hassle to file and find everything electronically.

Two buzz-words for me right now are simplicity and integrity.  Integrity has always been a big one for me.  As a Christian, integrity is of the utmost importance in my life.  I can’t be one thing in front of my parents and one thing in my church building.  I should be the same Christian in front of other Christians as I am everywhere else.  I want a life that can facilitate my desire to be a person of integrity.  To be a whole person who isn’t pulled in too many directions, I need to simplify.  I don’t want the clutter in my life to make me feel scattered and anxious.  I am a sponge-like person.  (at least that’s how people have described me before)  I soak up things around me.  I love to learn, I love to pour out again…  But that means that things get sucked in that might not need to get sucked in.  Sometimes my surroundings inform my emotions.  I feel anxious if I’m in a messy environment.  I haven’t quite figured out if it’s because I don’t want people to see the mess and feel the need to immediately clean it or if I just don’t like it hanging around making me feel guilty.  I like looking around and knowing that I have a clean house and it’s picked up.  I feel more peaceful and relaxed when I have a clean house.  I feel like I can spend time working on other things.

So, in my desire for simplicity and integrity, I desire to have less to clean up, I guess.  Wouldn’t it be so much easier to only have 100 things to clean up, rather than 1,000?   What helps is that Hubs and I are nuts about streamlined modern looking design.  We love the clean lines, chic aesthetic and the (seemingly) easy maintenance.  A place for everything and everything in its place.  We love that.

So, as we forge onward in our latest purge, wish us luck, godspeed and send a rescue dog if you don’t hear back in a week!

XD

Leave a Reply

